Graduate Students [Fall 2018]

Awanti Acharya

Awanti Acharya


Advisor
: Dean Hanink
Office: AUST 419
awanti.acharya@uconn.edu

Antonio Barocci

Antonio Barocci


Advisor
: Ken Foote
Office: AUST 417
antonio.barocci@uconn.edu


Interests
:  human geography, space and power, didactics and pedagogy of the geography

Diane BenBella

Diane BenBella


Advisor
: Debarchana Ghosh
Office: AUST 423
diane.benbella@uconn.edu


Interests
:  GIS, Spatial analysis, Health geography, Remote sensing, Land Use and Land Cover change

Ashley Benitez Ou

Ashley Benitez Ou


Advisor
: Ken Foote
Office: 111 Hall Building
ashley.benitez_ou@uconn.edu


Interests
:  Urban environment planning and public policies in the context of climate resilience and adaptation

LinkedIn profile

Shamayeta Bhattacharya

Shamayeta Bhattacharya


Advisor
: Debanuj DasGupta
Office: AUST 419
shamayeta.bhattacharya@uconn.edu


Interests
:  social and cultural geography, geography of gender & sexuality, GIS and a flair for learning new methods for conducting research

Mary Buchanan

Mary Buchanan


Advisor
: Carol Atkinson-Palombo
Office: AUST 418
mary.buchanan@uconn.edu


Interests
:  GIS, sustainable land use, agriculture, biodiversity, and conservation planning

Curtis Denton

Curtis Denton


Advisor
: Debarchana Ghosh
curtis.denton@uconn.edu


Interests
:  Health & Medical Geography, Transportation, GIS Data Management, and Web Map Services

 No Photo

Eli Egan-Anderson


Advisor
: William Ouimet
eli.egan-anderson@uconn.edu

Elizabeth Esposito

Elizabeth Esposito


Advisor
: Carol Atkinson-Palombo
Office:
elizabeth.esposito@uconn.edu


Interests
:  GIS, sustainable cities, and land use planning

LinkedIn profile

Mary Hartford

Mary Hartford


Advisor
: Mark Boyer
Office:  AUST 423
mary.hartford@uconn.edu


Interests
:  Economic Geography, Coastal Transitions, Social Justice in Sustainability Planning, and Spatial Analysis

Michael Howser

Michael Howser


Advisor
: Cindy Zhang
michael.howser@uconn.edu


Interests
: Geospatial data discovery approaches, long term preservation of geospatial data utilizing Fedora/Islandora based systems, and development of open access geospatial datasets.

Sungmin Jang

Sungmin Jang


Advisor
: Nathaniel Trumbull
Office: AUST 418
sungmin.jang@uconn.edu


Interests
:  Border areas, Regional change and development, Cultural and historical geography

Moataz Kilany

Moataz Kilany


Advisor
Cindy Zhang
Office: AUST 419
moataz.kilany@uconn.edu


Interests
: Accuracy improvement of machine learning algorithms using Swarm Intelligence, Signal processing - features selection - extraction (Bio-Signals / GIS data).

Research Gate Profile: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Moataz_Kilany/contributions

No Photo Available

Christine Kuckert


Advisor
: Dean Hanink
christine.kuckert@uconn.edu

 Xueke Li

Xueke Li


Advisor
: Cindy Zhang
Office: AUST 419
xueke.li@uconn.edu


Interests
:  Air Pollution & Public Health; Geospatial Analysis/GIS

Megan McCusker Hill

Megan McCusker Hill


Advisor
: William Ouimet
Office: AUST 419
megan.mccusker@uconn.edu


Interests
:  LiDAR, Historic Landscape Change, Milldams, Legacy Sediments, Gullies, Geomorphology of the Anthropocene

Adelina Mkami

Adelina Mkami


Advisor
: Phoebe Godfrey
Office: AUST 418
adelina.mkami@uconn.edu


Interests
:  Food Security, Human Rights, Economic Geography, GIS

Josh O'Brien

Joshua O' Brien


Advisor
: Ken Foote
Office: AUST 419
joshua.obrien@uconn.edu


Interests
:  GIS, Cartography, Emergency Management

Lauren Perez Bonilla

Lauren Perez Bonilla


Advisor
Debanuj DasGupta
Office: AUST 418
lauren.perez_bonilla@uconn.edu


Interests
:  Sex work(ers) in the Caribbean, en who have sex with men (MSM), HIV/AIDS, mental health, masculinities, same-sex performances, (in)visibility, impact of neocolonialism in Caribbean bodies, decolonization of knowledge, and human rights.

Personal webpage:  https://www.linkedin.com/in/lauren-pérez-bonilla-0666b372/

 No Photo

Francis Pickering


Advisor
: Carol Atkinson-Palombo

francis.pickering@uconn.edu

Ashley Stephens

Ashley Stephens


Advisor
Carol Atkinson-Palombo
Office: AUST 418
ashley.l.stephens@uconn.edu


Interests
:  Sustainability, Climate Change and Health Geography

Ji Won Suh


Advisor
William Ouimet
Office: AUST 418
ji.suh@uconn.edu


Interests
:  Land Cover Change, GIS, Slope Stability

Fabian Terbeck

Fabian Terbeck


Advisor
: Dean Hanink
Office: AUST 417
fabian.terbeck@uconn.edu

Hui Wang

Hui Wang


Advisor
: Scott Stephenson
Office: AUST 417
hui.wang@uconn.edu


Interests
: GIS applications and human-environment systems

Wenjie Wang

Wenjie Wang


Advisor
: Cindy Zhang
Office: AUST 419
wenjie.wang@uconn.edu


Interests
: GIS, Land-use/Land-cover analysis

No Photo

Junya Wu


Advisor
: Anji Seth
Office: AUST 417
junya.wu@uconn.edu

 Ruiting Zhai

Ruiting Zhai


Advisor
: Cindy Zhang
Office: AUST 418
ruiting.zhai@uconn.edu

 Bo Zhang

Bo Zhang


Advisor
: Cindy Zhang
Office: AUST 423
bozhang@uconn.edu

Yue Zhang

Yue Zhang


Advisor
: Dean Hanink
Office: AUST 418
yue.zhang@uconn.edu


Interests
: GIS, Economic Geography

Zhijie Zhang


Advisor
: Cindy Zhang
Office: AUST 419
zhijie.zhang@uconn.edu


Interests
: WebGIS, Semantic Web and Neural Networks